Log in
Log in


The Cooley-Moore Scholarship Fund was established in honor of two Zeta Chi Omega Chapter charter members - Marie Cooley and Emma Moore. From 1957 to 2023, approximately $499,000 was awarded in scholarships. Of that amount, an estimated $82,000 was provided to students attending Historically Black Colleges or Universities (HBCUs).

The first educational grants were awarded in 1957 to students graduating from Parker Gray, Luther Jackson, and Hoffman Boston High Schools. The amount of the first award was $150.

The annual Cooley-Moore Luncheon Fashion Show is the signature event that supports the Cooley-Moore Scholarship. The event features renowned designer Kenny Kas, celebrity host Guy Lambert, and youth designers from HBCUs. A scholarship recipient provides the keynote address, and the event is open to the public for support.

The scholarship recipients exhibit the attributes of those who are well-prepared to become successful in college. They are talented and hard-working, and most have overcome significant obstacles including socio-economic insecurity and family struggles. They are leaders who are active in school organizations and in their communities. Most recipients carry high school coursework that includes honors and advanced placement courses and have exceptional grade point averages.

The winners of each scholarship are selected based upon a combination of the following criteria:

● Academic achievement

● Financial need

● Contribution to school and community

● Acceptance to an accredited two or four-year college or university

● Letters of recommendation

In recent years, scholarship recipients have received either four-year recurring scholarships in the amounts of $2,000 to $4,000 per year, one-time $4,000 stipend-scholarships to attend Historically Black College or Universities (HBCUs), or other stipend awards in varying amounts from $1,000 to $3,000. Awards have been based on funding availability. Additionally, recurring scholarship recipients have received ongoing mentoring from scholarship program members. There are currently six college students who are the recipients of recurring scholarship awards.

Scholarship recipients are required to attend a two-year or four-year accredited institution and provide proof of continuing enrollment. Students who receive a recurring scholarship must maintain a 2.5 grade point average. Scholarship awards may be used for necessary educational expenses, to include books, tuition and fees. Ivy Foundation of Northern Virginia distributes the scholarship funding directly to the recipients’ colleges or universities.


Post Office Box 4090

Arlington, VA 22204

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software